Written By mzee wa matukiodaima habari bila uoga on Monday, July 8, 2013 | 8:27 AM

Rais wa TFF Leodgar Tenga akimkabidhi nahodha wa Kinondoni wasichana kombe
Mwanza boys have emerged national Airtel Rising Stars champions by beating Morogoro 1-0 in a tough but exciting final held at Karume Memorial Stadium in Dar es Salaam. The girls champions trophy went to Kinondoni following their 1-0 victory over Ilala.    
The lone goal that elevated Mwanza to the top spot of the one-week national finals was scored by Athanas Mdam with a powerful shoot in the 34th minute. The talented striker has won himself admiration among fans for his unique football skills and it did not come as a surprise when he was declared best scorer of the tournament.
Apart from Mdam, other outstanding players selected by a panel of coaches are Arafat Mussa (best goalkeeper) from Kinondoni and Omary Hussein (overall best player) from Ilala.   
The tournament also produced six players (three boys and three girls) who will attend an international football clinic to be held in the Democratic Republic of Congo under the supervision of coaches from Manchester United coaching schools. They are Anna Hebron, Niwael Halfan, Shelda Boniface, Athanas Mdam, Thomas Chindeka and Omary Hassan. 
The Tanzania Football Federation (TFF) named possible boys and girls players for the coming inter-country Airtel championships slated for Nigeria in September. The lists will be further scrutinized to get 16 best players who will travel to Nigeria.
The boys list is made up of Arafat Mussa, Fred Bakari, Emmanuel Innocent and Willy Karolo (Kinondoni), Aziz Hassan, Omary Hussein, Joseph Mushi, Saddy Said and Said Danda (Ilala), Rothan Mkanwa, Petro Mgaya, George Chota, Ramadhani Kondo and Optamus Lupekenya (Morogoro), Bruno Shayo, Luseke Kiggi, Martini Lusseke and Athanas Mdam (Mwanza), Thomas Chindeka, Miraji Kingaye and Salum Issa (Temeke) and Michael Bosco (Mbeya).
 Girls are Najihati Abbas, Stumai Abdallah, Anastazia Anthon, Tatu Iddi, Shelda Boniphace, Rehema Yahya and Anna Bebron (Kinondoni), Niwael Halfan, Amina Ramadhan, Latifa Ahmed and Alafa Abdul (Temeke), Vumilia Maharifa, Donisia Daniel, Maimuna Khamis and Amina Ally Ilala), Khadija Hiza (Tanga), Mwamvita Tabago, Shakila Hashimu, Zainabu Bakari (Kigoma), Shamimu Ally and Farida Mohamed (Ruvuma).
Speaking at the closing ceremony, Airtel Tanzania Managing Director Sunil Colaso said the clinic and the tournament in Nigeria will further enhance players football skills and underscored the company commitment to continue supporting the youth championships.
The Guest of Honour, Deputy Minister for Information, Youth, Culture and Sports Amos Makala asked the youngsters to take football seriously and called on other companies to invest in youth sports programs. His remarks were echoed by TFF president Leodegar Tenga. 
Share this article :

Post a Comment

blog designer Hoseaplatnum
Copyright © 2013. MATUKIO DAIMA - All Rights Reserved
Template Created by Hoseaplatnum Published by Francis Godwin
Proudly powered by FREE COMMUNITY MEDIA